What is Lymphoma?

Lymphoma is also known as cancer of the lymphatic system. The lymphatic system consists of lymph nodes in the neck, armpits, groin, chest, and abdomen. Its main functions include removing excess fluids from our body and producing immune cells. Abnormal lymphocytes, a type of white blood cell which fights infection, become lymphoma cells, which multiply and collect in the lymph nodes. Over time, these cancerous cells will impair the immune system.

What are the Types of Lymphoma?

Lymphomas are generally categorised into 2 :

Hodgkin Lymphoma

  • Approximately 12% of people with lymphoma have Hodgkin lymphoma
  • This used to be a fatal diagnosis but owing to advancements in research and technology, and breakthrough studies, it has now been successfully transformed into a curable condition.

Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

  • Majority of Non-Hodgkin lymphomas are B-cell lymphomas. They can either grow quickly (high-grade) or slowly (low-grade). There are over a dozen types of B-cell Non-Hodgkin lymphomas.
  • The remaining types of Non-Hodgkin lymphomas are known as T-cell lymphomas. This is named after a different type of cancerous white blood cell (lymphocyte).





Enquiry Form

Loading ...